Current Wikability

List of earls in the peerages of Britain and Ireland

This is a list of the 191 present and extant earls in the Peerages of the England, Scotland, Great Britain, Ireland, and the United Kingdom. Note that it does not include extant earldoms which have become merged (either through marriage or elevation) with marquessates or dukedoms and are today only seen as subsidiary titles. For a more complete list, which adds these "hidden" earldoms as well...

Similar Articles

Earl () is a rank of the nobility in the United Kingdom. The title originates in the Old English word eorl, meaning "a man of noble birth or rank". The word is cognate with the Scandinavian form...

Earl of Berkshire

Earl of Berkshire is a title that has been created twice in the Peerage of England. It was created for the first time in 1621 for Francis Norris, 1st Earl of Berkshire. For more information on...

Earl of Suffolk

Earl of Suffolk is a title that has been created four times in the Peerage of England. The first creation, in tandem with the creation of the title of Earl of Norfolk, came before 1069 in favour...

Earl of Montgomery

The title Earl of Montgomery (pronounced "Mun-gum-ery") was created in the Peerage of England in 1605 for Sir Philip Herbert, younger son of the 2nd Earl of Pembroke. The first Earl inherited the...

Earl of Harrington

Earl of Harrington is a title in the Peerage of Great Britain that was created in 1742. ==Origins== It was created in 1742 for William Stanhope, 1st Baron Harrington, the former Secretary...

Earl of Shrewsbury

thumb|right|200px|George Talbot, 6th Earl of Shrewsbury (d.1590) Earl of Shrewsbury ()That is, not . --Debrett's Correct Form, 2002 edition is a hereditary title of nobility created twice in the...